Author Topic: What Do You Use Your Computer For? - Most Should Use Linux!  (Read 4732 times)

Offline Slacker

• BolehVPN Staff
  • Admiral
What Do You Use Your Computer For? - Most Should Use Linux!
« on: March 14, 2012, 01:44:40 PM »
I did not notice any posts like this, so hopefully this hasn't been discussed before...

I wanted to share my experiences, since I make my living in the computer world and I'm a Linux geek as you may or may not have noticed by the Linux tutorials... :)

For as long as I've been into computing, which goes back a very long time, I'd never dream of using Windows online anymore, because the level of experience it takes to understand all the complexities of the OS from a security stand point and apply some of them, goes way over the head of the average computer user and honestly, it's really a pain to stay on top of all the problems to try and stay safe, or keep your computer out of malware hell...

Granted there's a learning curve to Linux, but as far as staying safer out the box,  no, Linux supplies you with better safety and security, above and beyond Windows without any user intervention!

You will certainly run across a lot of people that claim to have never had any problems in Windows, but then, what level of experience do they have to understand if they have never really had a problem, or if they're not facing one right now? Most users I see, base this off of, by what they are seeing and experiencing, meaning if the system seems to look and run ok, they think they have no problems...

Look at this article, granted it goes back 2 years, but statistics like these to this day are very real, I wouldn't be surprised if it was around 30%-40% of the entire world population infected today as we speak, it is literally that bad and believe me this is not a wild percentage I'm throwing out here too;

http://www.zdnet.com/blog/security/report-48-of-22-million-scanned-computers-infected-with-malware/5365