Author Topic: Question about Port Forwarding  (Read 10858 times)

gunnclarke

Question about Port Forwarding
« on: January 28, 2009, 06:48:32 PM »
I am new to VPN.

Just bought a 3-day trial from BolehVPN and has been achieving 'admirable' download speed.

My question is:

Since VPN is a direct encrypted tunnel between a client and a server, is configuring Port Forwarding on my router necessary?

Thanks.

kitsuna

Re: Question about Port Forwarding
« Reply #1 on: January 28, 2009, 07:28:09 PM »
only for bolehroute connection need port forwarding

gunnclarke

« Reply #2 on: January 28, 2009, 08:14:26 PM »
Why is that?

kitsuna

« Reply #3 on: January 28, 2009, 09:36:32 PM »
because the normal bolehvpn connection are behind the server proxy
so the tracker wont detect directly to your router ip

on bolehroute, you need to port forward because all your pc connection are going through the vpn server
roughly, its like your pc virtually at the bolehroute server data center, except the ip are shared with the server

i hope my explanation is understandable  :P

Offline Reuben

• Chief Doraemon
  • Administrator
  • Admiral
« Reply #4 on: January 29, 2009, 08:07:31 AM »
furryness' explanation for the most part is correct.
the bolehvpn configuration will not allow you to get an open port as it's behind a socks proxy.

This however in our experience does not result in any significant loss (if any) in speed unless there are very few seeders.

On Bolehroute it's fine if you don't forward as well but defeats one of the main advantages of Bolehroute for those people who want that open port perhaps for better seeding.
*If you like my service/support, please consider posting a positive feedback here*<3

Co-Founder/Administrator

eugenet

« Reply #5 on: April 17, 2009, 05:56:24 PM »
Hi there... I am lost like a kid crying for his mama in a big mall....

My configuration:   Belkin modem-router, 3 PCs and uTorrent client.